ft podcast episode: true detective: 1×5 “the secret fate of all life”

February 18, 2014 § 1 Comment

episode-05-1024

Paul, Dave and special guest Timmy Wood discuss another totally uneventful, entirely humdrum episode of of HBO’s True Detective. We’re kidding. It’s just as riveting as ever and maybe even more surprising.

Listen to this episode.

Music
Lesley Gore

Tagged: , , , , , , ,

§ One Response to ft podcast episode: true detective: 1×5 “the secret fate of all life”

  • Tom says:

    Love the podcasts. I’ve been listening for awhile now but never written (at least I don’t think I’ve written). I’m so happy that you all are reviewing True Detective. I just wanted to throw a couple of things your way.

    First, I don’t recall you all mentioning this but I’ve found it really interesting how industry (factories/power plants) sort of loom over everything. They are constantly popping up in the background of shots and I can’t help but think of it as some symbol of the rich and powerful lording over these rural citizens. There are some striking shots of lush landscapes with these monolithic structures looming in the background.

    On a similar note, I find it interesting all the decaying structures of past institutions — the burned out church, the water damaged school. It was an interesting contrast to have the tent revival church and burned out church in the same episode, almost as if they were on the run.

    The podcast pointed me to the literary references and I thought the following article had the best discussion of those references — http://thinkprogress.org/alyssa/2014/02/16/3292391/true-detective-carcosa/#

    I love art of any medium that lends to these types of discussions and while I think a lot of what we read into is not necessarily the “authors” intention, I do think it’s the sign of the best creations. The story is so well thought out that some of these elements are serendipitous.

    I’m a huge fan of Jim Jarmusch’s “Dead Man” and the Jonathan Rosenbaum (one of my all time favorite film critics) BFI book about the film illustrates the above well. He points out all the layers and even some that author might not have intended but work in the end. I highly recommend Rosenbuam’s book — it’s short and I think you all would get a lot out of it.

    Keep up the great work! I am looking forward to the next episode and your next podcast.

    All the best,
    Tom

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading ft podcast episode: true detective: 1×5 “the secret fate of all life” at fuzzy typewriter.

meta

